Select box in elm

Hi everyone.

I am a beginner to elm and I was trying to create a select box in elm. I couldn’t find an example to build off of but I found an about someone’s experience regarding elm. Omegle They highlighted that it was quite difficult to do a select box in elm and ultimately elm wasn’t pragmatic to use. Appvalley The article was written in November 2016 and I was wondering if it is as difficult to create a select box as it is made out to be in the article?

Thanks

Hello man.

You can find select-elements in html on the official package manager. I found a coulple by searching “select”.

Building one from scratch can be a hassle because, in my opinion, the html-native select/option elements doesn’t map very well to elms programming model. This obviously depends on how much functionality you need :sunny:

Hey Jacob,
welcome to the Elm community!

If you have the link to the article you mentioned it could be useful to post it here so we can better understand the argumentation of the original author.

Here is an ellie (working example) referenced in this Stackoverflow answer.

It’s just html and straightforward to implement. That being said, there is discussion around the usefulness of select elements. You can argue that few elements are better selected via a radio group and many elements are better selected by a text input with autocomplete. Therefore the higher level ui package elm-ui has decided against implementing it.

If you still want to use it and don’t just want to implement it for yourself, searching for select on elm-package will give you many results with examples.

Hi, Jacob!

I’m also curious about the article itself, because I cannot comment much without that context, and we might all be missing something important :slight_smile: