A password manager without a master password

Hi all!

I wanted to show what I’ve been working on for the last 6 months:

NoKey, a password manager without a master password.
Instead, you can unlock your passwords by confirming from another device. E.g. if you need a password on your PC, you only have to confirm this on your phone. No need to remember any passwords!

The vast majority of the code is written in Elm and it’s fully open source.

There is a browser extension for Chrome and Firefox and an Android app.
The application is only useful with at least two devices, so to really test it out, you’ll have to install it on two devices.
There is no iOS version and the web app doesn’t work on Safari either, sorry!

Any feedback or questions are greatly appreciated, be it regarding the actual application or about the code.

Download links, code and more info is in the readme at: https://github.com/Zinggi/NoKey/

23 Likes

I think this is awesome, and is a really cool application of some good crypto techniques!

I didn’t see this stated in the docs anywhere, but am I correct in assuming that you can have any number of devices linked to your account, and that you need two devices to contribute their key to unlock a password (the device you’re going to use the password on (like your browser), and one one of the other devices to confirm (like your phone))?

Also, I guess NoKey has the risk that if you lose access to enough devices, you can no longer unencrypt anything. Has this been a problem for any NoKey users in practice? Do you think there are any good solutions to this problem?

1 Like

Thanks!

I didn’t see this stated in the docs anywhere, but am I correct in assuming that you can have any number of devices linked to your account, and that you need two devices to contribute their key to unlock a password […]

First of, there is no “account”. Instead, you link devices together by pairing them which establishes trust between those devices.