Are those downsides still valid today?

I like ELM and want to use it in real project. As a seasoned and practical developer(around 20yrs), I love to look for negative points before introducing new technolgy into my work, since these points give me more angles to look at the technology. Then I found this post saying Elm is not ready yet.

Since I’m new to ELM and cannot thoroughly evaluate these points, I come here for opinion from ELM veterans.

BTW, I don’t believe there are any hard drawback in ELM. I think points in that post may more or less due to personal programming philosophy which is not go align with that of ELM which I love(Pure FP, Clearly controled external interact, etc). But still, I want hear feedback on that for a thorough understanding before I put ELM in my real product.

5 Likes

Elm is designed beautifully for its intended usecases. If you have a project, where the use fits elms strengths, and the project constraints aren’t in conflict with what elm supports. Use it! It’s unreal how good elm is at what it’s trying to do.

Requires a build process
Requires client side rendering
Requires learning elm (is your team willing to?)
Doesn’t allow shortcuts or hacks.
No real serverside support.

You could find work arounds for the above constraints, but elm thrives BECAUSE of its constraints. Everything is predictable in an elm codebase. It’s incredible to be able to open any elm project and understand what’s going on.

I’d recommend elm for web apps, and generally advise against using elm for content sites. Elm-pages and elm spa has done good work making content sites more friendly, but elm is naturally incredible at building web apps.