Avoiding "RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded"

I have a recursive function that is crashing with a RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded error, but it seems like it shouldn’t.

My code is at https://ellie-app.com/gdwKVjzNPnHa1, and the problematic function (turtleStepsToPointsHelper in my code) has the overall structure:

turtleStepsToPointsHelper: Point -> Float -> Float -> List TurtleSteps
turtleStepsToPointsHelper initialPosition orientation stepSize steps =
    case steps of
        [] ->
            []

Forward :: rest ->
            let
                nextStep = ...
            in
            nextStep :: turtleStepsToPointsHelper nextStep orientation stepSize rest

Left :: rest ->
            turtleStepsToPointsHelper initialPosition (orientation + pi / 2) stepSize rest

Right :: rest ->
            turtleStepsToPointsHelper initialPosition (orientation - pi / 2) stepSize rest

I’m new to Elm (but know some Haskell and functional programming stuff), and it seems like that’s the right way to do it.

• is this a compiler bug / thing? Some other posts here suggest that it might be.
  • is my code idiomatic Elm? Is there a different way, better style, etc?
  • forgetting about elegant style and so on, is there at least some workaround?
1 Like

I copied your Ellie locally and compiled with elm make src/Main.elm. Sometimes its helpful to see the compiled code to figure out where things are not tail recursive. For the Forward case I get:

case 'Forward':
    var _n1 = steps.a;
    var rest = steps.b;
    var nextStep = A2(
        author$project$Main$translate,
        initialPosition,
        A2(
            author$project$Main$rotate,
            {x: stepSize, y: 0},
            orientation));
    return A2(
        elm$core$List$cons,
        nextStep,
        A4(author$project$Main$turtleStepsToPointsHelper, nextStep, orientation, stepSize, rest));