Beta release of step: an experimental package for clean update functions

I’m excited to finally show off a package I’ve been using at work and on side projects for ~10 months: step

The core data structure exposed is a Step model msg a, which is intended to be a light abstraction over the usual (model, Cmd msg) value usually returned from update. If you’ve ever wondered if there was a cleaner way to call nested update functions, or confused yourself trying to apply the “OutMsg” pattern, I think you’ll find it useful.

The package docs provide the motivation, a discussion of prior work, and a few simple usage examples. Maybe the best way to get a lay of the land is to look at the diff for this commit, which step-ifies elm-spa-example. I’ll try to add an examples folder over the coming weeks as well

Consider this a beta release; I want to have people kick the tires and give constructive feedback. If the community finds it useful, I’ll re-release it as elm-some-better-name. I’m eager for all feedback, but particularly eager for answers to the following questions:

• Do the docs do a good job of getting you up to speed?
  • Are the functions in the package named well?
  • What should the package’s name be?
  • Is the third type variable in the Step type worth its weight?

Feel free to leave questions and comments here, on GitHub, or in person at elm-conf/strangeloop.

Thanks!

13 Likes

This looks really interesting! Just a couple of quick comments.

Your foldSteps is something like Update.Extra.sequence, which is a function I use a lot. It allows you to have simple, fine-grained messages in your Msg type, and yet easily combine them together into a kind of “composite” message when that makes sense. So, I wouldn’t discourage it in the way that your docs do.