Calling DOM methods from Elm

I’m completely new to Elm and are reading through the guide. In the Maybe chapter there is an exercise where one task is to put a red border around an invalid input.

I would like to use HTMLInputElement.setCustomValidity(String) instead of using CSS.

Unfortunately elm/html does not have a DOM method primitive.
The problem with using Html.Attributes.property "setCustomValidity" (JSON.Encode.string e), is that Html.Attributes.property generates a setter that not only is not working but overwrites setCustomValidity() so it does not work for any JS on the page.

I’ve read Properties vs. Attributes that does not mention DOM methods and Exploits allowing arbitrary JS code execution via Elm code which indicate that all escape hatches has been closed.

Is there any simple way to call a DOM method on an Element in Elm?

PS. In case you want to see how I want to use setCustomValidity, my attempt is on line 161 in celsiusToFahrenheit/src/Main.elm.

1 Like

I think it will require using ports or a custom element to access that API. A custom element could wrap up the logic nicely, but for this use case I would recommend making your own error view in vanilla Elm if that is an option.

The ports are a decent bit of cognitive overhead, and the custom element can be too if you don’t already use them in the app, and the error view is much simpler.

Thank you for your suggestion.

I think that, with my current speed of learning, ports and custom elements are a few days out. But I can revisit my code when I get to those.

I also searched a bit for Elm packages and there is quite a few that are validation oriented. But I could not understand, with my current knowledge, if they would enable reading / setting validity.

Do you know any packages for that? I rather start out with a package than spend time re-inventing the wheel, if someone already worked on this.