Code for a "hands-on" Elm talk

I’m new to Elm and really enjoying it. Naturally this has led to me evangelising about it to anyone that will listen, and ultimately it’s ended up with me being roped into giving a talk on Elm at my local meetup! :sweat_smile:

I’ve come up with a plan which involves slowly building an app, introducing concepts as I go. I’ll give the audience non-compiling samples in Ellie, which they’ll need to complete to show that they’ve understood each concept.

I wanted to post the app so far in case anyone with more experience in Elm could spot areas where the code isn’t ideal:

https://ellie-app.com/pQdnG6SWNa1/0

In particular I don’t feel totally happy about the update function, as I’m having to cover off a case that in reality should be impossible. I’m not sure there’s any way around this though as there’s no way for the compiler to know that certain model types are restricted to certain message types.

update msg model =
    case msg of
        Select card ->
            case model of
                CardList cards _ ->
                    ( CardList cards (Just card), Cmd.none )

-- this case should be impossible, because only the CardList view has Select buttons
                _ ->
                    ( model, Cmd.none )

Loaded (Result.Ok cards) ->
            ( CardList cards Nothing, Cmd.none )

Loaded (Result.Err err) ->
            case err of
                BadStatus { body } ->
                    ( Error body, Cmd.none )

_ ->
                    ( Error "Unknown error", Cmd.none )

Thanks in advance for any help on this :blush:

2 Likes

This is awesome!

What if you put the “case model of” around the “case msg of”?

Then you wouldn’t need to handle that case for each message!

Ah it’s only really the Select case that needs to worry about different model cases, and that’s only because I need to keep the cards data after the update.