Code Review: Password Form

Thanks to assistance in this thread, I was able to rethink my code to make it more consistent. I did not end up including the List functions, as I am not able to clearly reason my way through them yet.

As an aspiring elm programmer, I would highly appreciate it if you could review my code from the perspective of a team leader or tech lead and advise where I could improve if this was my given task and the code was to be used in production.

The reasoning I went through to code the solution the way I did was as follows:

1. If the code was to be called more than once, place it in a function, so that it is only defined in one place.

2. Make similar functions have the same type signature, so that one general helper function (viewDrawSymbol) can call the individual helper functions (pwIsLength) consistently.

3. Use pw for password, to shorten the code.

4. Elm gave me the confidence to code this in a novel way, where each criteria of the password is checked as the user types.

Please have a look at this code.

You could look at your validation checks. Do you need to check against model.passwordAgain as well as model.password?

Personally, I wouldn’t do the validation check on model.passwordAgain - only on model.password. The reason being:

1. Your messages to the user only state ‘Password must …’
  2. You have pwIsMatched in place, so when model.password passes all the validation, you know that model.passwordAgain does too if this function returns True.

If you must check both, comparing both with an || means the user will get a check mark if just model.passwordAgain passes, which doesn’t make sense to me. It may better to use && to check both pass the validation.

You have a typo in pwIsUpper, you are checking model.password twice.

You could write viewSubmitButton like so (just a suggestion):

viewSubmitButton : Model -> Html msg
viewSubmitButton model =
    let
         disabled_ =