Considering Creating a DataFrame Package

I’m pretty new to the Elm world, but at first glance it seems there isn’t a strong set of tools around manipulating tabular / relational data in a declarative way. I remember seeing a talk by Evan where he mentioned one value proposition that Elm could strive for might be in-browser analytics scientific computing, specifically data visualization (see edited note). I work as a data scientist who primarily writes internal packages for other data scientists, and it seems like a DataFrame construct with declarative grammars for data manipulation and graphics (like Python’s pandas or the tidyverse in R) would be a good foundation for data science and analytics work. I wouldn’t start on this right away, but it has been swirling around my head and wanted to see what others thought.

First question: Is it true that this is a use-case that doesn’t have a strong toolset? Does this even seem valuable for the users of Elm?

I can imagine implementing a DataFrame either as a list of records or a list of dicts. There are upsides and downsides to either approach.

Using records, there is native support for varying column types, and it becomes easy to pass around accessors to row attributes using the .x syntax. But the idea of joining two tables made of records would be difficult, since using merge syntax I would need to know the attributes of the record in advance. This fits in well with type safety but is not scalable. If I have two tables with 20 fields each and wish to join on a single key field, listing the other 19 fields during a join is tedious. I can think of some ways around this, such as treating joins like a linked list of records, but that seems like a difficult mental model to reason about.