Discussion about boilerplate code for Elm libraries

Hello Everyone,
I’ve recently finished to set up my company’s new website in Elm (http://hswsnc.com - please keep in mind I’m a developer, not a graphic designer). This was my first real project in Elm beside some hello worlds and examples, and even if it was fairly simple I could already appreciate the improvements over traditional html-javascript programming.

One thing however captured my attention while developing it. I used the elm-bootstrap package for the page’s top navbar. The library requires you to add a field of type Navbar.State to the model (or to otherwise keep track of it) that is used to draw the actual navbar.

Now, adding a field to the Model is obviously not an issue - the navbar has a state, and I would need to keep track of it somehow. What bothers me is having to add an extra message to manage navbar changes in my update function.

update msg model = 
    case msg of
        NavMsg state -> 
            ( { model | navState = state }
            , Cmd.none )

Navbar.State is an opaque record, so I can’t do anything with it (as it should be). Nevertheless, these 4 lines of added code are boilerplate, are they not? Ideally, as a user of the library I should have no business in knowing when or how the navbar is updated. Albeit small, it contrasts with the idea of elegance I had of Elm.
This is an example for what I believe is a bigger problem. If an Elm package needs to manage state the programmer must explicitly set up messages like that.

If this was a less functional framework there would be an hidden entity managing the navbar state, maybe an object or a separate thread initiated after a navbarInit() invocation. Of course those are all reasons to move away from those and embrace Elm instead, so it’s not what I am wishing for.