Dynamic record updates

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to Elm and I really love it so far – except, and this is becoming a dealbreaker for me, the inability to make dynamic updates to records, i.e. not having to write dozens of separate, 100%-identical-looking setter functions for Every. Single. Field.

I’m aware that a solution would require some code generation – it doesn’t have to be a full-scale user-facing macro system. I’m aware of extensible records and how to use them. I’m aware of the Focus library (and that it does nothing to address the actual issue). I’m aware of Dicts (but then I might as well not use a type-checked language at all). I’ve read all the mailing list threads and Github issues. I’m aware that this has been requested over and over for years, and shot down every time because of concerns new developers might get confused and/or write messy code.

Is there something in the pipeline to make this happen – a discussion I could follow, a dev branch I can look at and contribute to, a workaround, anything? I’d hate to leave Elm, but it’s turning me into a human templating system and it’s driving me mad.

Thanks! With love,
Sebastian

7 Likes

Can you elaborate with a piece of code where the lack of dynamic setters is problematic?
How would derived setters solve the problem?

In terms of length, adding setters would have very little gain

-- current 
{ record | fieldName = newValue } 

-- alternative
record.setFieldname newValue -- possibly leads to name clashes and adds magic
record@fieldname newValue -- not very pretty

So I guess the goal is composition of setters? The elm-focus documentation already describes why nested
data updates in pure functional languages - and possibly in general - may not be a great idea.

Unmentioned there is that without serious compiler optimizations, setters generate much more garbage, and
are thus slower

-- creates one intermediate record, and then the new one
myRecord
    |> setX 10
    |> setY 20