Elm-like languages

Hi,

I have been exploring Elm for a few months now and I really like many things about it. Among other things, I appreciate the way effects are handled. I find it very logical and exemplary for a purely functional language. Now I am wondering which languages are similar to Elm and are also suitable for areas other than frontend development. Which languages would you say feel somewhat like Elm? Which languages do you use yourself? I am most interested in purely functional languages, but that is not a strict requirement.

What do you think e.g. of Roc, Gren, Gleam, F#, Purescript …?

Of course Haskell is also interesting. But my brain refuses to understand how effects are handled in Haskell and what monads really are…
This is what I really like about Elm: Elm is purely functional and all dirty jobs are “commanded” to the runtime. That is simple to understand.

3 Likes

Don’t discount Standard ML and OCaml. Maybe they’re not shiny new and hip, but these are educational and industrial workhorses for decades now.

Standard ML is an elegant, feel-nice language like Elm (though, as a matter of taste, the syntax might not feel as elegant as Elm’s). It being academically focused, available learning/reference material for industrial application will likely be more scarce and less approachable to someone coming from “Elm as a first ML language”.

From a “become a better programmer” standpoint, knowing SML is knowing the languages you mentioned (the “ML family”), and grokking where their inspiration came from. Once you master SML, there are a bunch of interesting ML variants to look into, like ConcurrentML (exploring synchronous message-passing, similar to Erlang), Poly/ML (standalone executables, multi-threading, ffi), MLton (whole program optimization, small and fast standalone executables), etc. IIRC, some Roc optimizations are implementations of research originally implemented and tested on MLton and OCaml.