Existential Types in Elm

Hello everyone,
I randomly stumbled upon this post referring to a presentation done during an online meetup about Existential types in Elm, or how to work with Elm in Object-Oriented style.

It’s basically a tutorial on how to implement and use a “type interface” that hides its implementation behind closures.

I found it very clever and interesting, so I started studying the implementation to get a better understanding. While I was unraveling the type pipeline I realized that the same result could be achieved by simply defining the interface constructors recursively, like so:

type Counter
    = Counter CounterRecord

type alias CounterRecord =
    { up : Int -> Counter
    , down : Int -> Counter
    , value : Int
    }

intCounter : Int -> Counter
intCounter n =
    Counter {
        up = \m -> n + m |> intCounter
        , down = \m -> n - m |> intCounter
        , value = n
    }

listCounter : Int -> Counter
listCounter n =
    let 
        state = List.repeat n ()
    in
        Counter {
            up = \m -> List.length state + m |> listCounter
            , down = \m -> List.drop m state |> List.length |> listCounter
            , value = List.length state
        }

Basically instead of passing around a pipeline with the anonymous raise function I just reify the interface through simple recursion.

Could someone point out if there is any advantage in @jhbrown 's approach? Do I lose something by cutting out the pipelining?

BTW - I was wrong to call them existential types. I think it is more accurate to describe this as ad-hoc polymorphism.

For the integer version, you don’t lose much by doing the recursive call the way you do it.