Fractal `update` functions thanks to lenses

Hi guys,

Quick disclaimer

I am very new to Elm and while reading An introduction to Elm something bugged me. The fact that only views are shown as composable (cf. https://guide.elm-lang.org/reuse).

I tried to find an elegant solution to let sub components/modules/functional slices of the app/… update their own model without having to know about the top level app model.

This is a very humble proposal and it’s probably missing a lot of cases (for example Command are not handled in my current proposal). I am looking for feedback on this idea. There might be a way that I missed to do that already, so I am up for any feedback :slight_smile:

It’s highly inspired of the Cycle.js way to do that (with cycle-onionify and lenses https://github.com/staltz/cycle-onionify).

In the rest of the issue I’ll use the term component to talk about a functional slice of an app (something that knows how to render, that possesses the business logic to update its own state and that returns some effects (the former is not part of this proposal)).

My problem: Components cannot define their own update function

So far, what I see is that there can only be a single signature for any update function of the app update : AppMessage -> AppModel -> AppModel.
Whether you are building an update function for the root component or for a nested leaf component, the function will always take a full AppModel.
The problem is that leaf component then need to know about the structure of AppModel and cannot be reused in another context (only their view can be reused).

Concrete example: the checkbox example

Let’s work on a concrete example to illustrate my proposal. The checkbox example is a good one I think http://elm-lang.org/examples/checkboxes

The model looks like this

type alias Model =
  { notifications : Bool
  , autoplay : Bool
  , location : Bool
  }

The views are factorized with the checkbox function