How Svelte and Elm compare?

I am new to both. I cannot say anything reasonable myself.

1 Like

ELM is language (slogan: A delightful language for reliable web applications.), whereas Svlete is a framework - where you write code in javascript + html.

So I think the comparison is between ELM and javascript.

I think this is actually a reasonable question to ask since Elm is both a language and a framework, and the compiler output of Elm is in the same language Svelte uses.

There have already been two threads about this with lots of details:

1 Like

I cannot speak specifically about Svelte, but in general, the tradeoff between elm and [insert JS based language/framework] is:

• Elm has a great dev experience: less choices, tools mostly work together, no footguns, no runtime exception, easy/fearless refactoring when you are bored or when your code has grown too much.
  • Elm has limitations too: some things requiring mutations or side effects are not feasible or not worth spending the time finding the best work around (it’s rare, but for a newcomer, it can be a deal breaker)
  • Elm is awesome to expand your way of thinking and solving problems: introduction to functional programming, brave new approaches (lamdera, elm-ui, tons of other innovating things)
  • [JS framework] is much easier to introduce to your coworkers or to get you a job.

If we are talking personal project @D_K don’t hesitate one second, and give elm a try. You won’t regret having tried it, and you might stick to it.

If we are talking new at-work project, don’t, especially if you are new to Elm and trying to introduce it in a context where others also don’t know it.

4 Likes

I wrote a decent amount of Svelte at my previous employer and Elm at my current so my options here are based on comparing the 2 experiences.