How to create custom infix operators

Ok first thing first, I am fairly new to elm.

Looking at the elm/core source code (elm/core) I noticed ( :: ) infix operator and I thought it is cool to have such a thing in my code as well, I went out to look for some documentation explaining this feature but all I have found was some blog post from people complaining why this feature is removed from elm version 0.19.

now I am wondering if this feature is removed from elm how is it possible that some libraries like elm/core and elm/url are able to use them, is there something that I am missing.

3 Likes

Libraries in elm namespace have some special powers like creating custom infix operators, but that is not possible generally.

2 Likes

Just a little more on this. Elm is frequently criticised for a perceived kind of closed development model. Basically library authors are mostly not allowed to do special things such as create infix operators, but a few specially anointed libraries/authors are afforded these “powers”. Most such arguments essentially boil down to “we’re all adults, let us do whatever we think is correct and the good stuff will rise to the top and be popular whilst the bad stuff will be allowed to sink to the bottom and eventually become unused/abandoned”. A kind of reddit style for libraries. I think this kind of argument sounds pretty compelling to many developers.