How to deal with blocking JS code (using ports)?

I am a beginner to both Elm and JavaScript. On the personal project that I am trying to make, there are calculations in JS that could take a long time (~ 30 secs or longer), and I am using Elm for the UI.

The calculation will start as soon as the page is loaded, and there will be a “waiting…” message rendered by Elm. How to ensure that the calculation will start after Elm rendered the message?

I know that one possible solution is to wrap all the calculation inside app.ports.infoForOutside.subscribe (in the style of Murphy’s talk) and use elm to decide when the function runs. But I still have two questions regarding that:

1. How do I know when Elm finishes rendering?
  2. How can I use ports to implement a progress-bar like feature?

Regarding the second question, my calculation is roughly like

for (i = 0; i < 100000; i++) { 
    status = some_calculation(status);
    if (debug_condition_met(status)){
        ask elm to render the progress bar and wait for it to render
    }
}

Thank you!

I’d be looking at something along the lines of: (note I haven’t run this at all but the approach should be clear)

module Main exposing (..)

type alias Model =
        { calculation : CalculationState }

type CalculationState
        = InProgress Int
        | Complete Float

port calculate : () -> Cmd msg

port calculationProgress : (Int -> msg) -> Sub msg

port calculationResult : (Float -> msg) -> Sub msg

init : ( Model, Cmd Msg )
    init =
        ( { calculation = InProgress 0 }
        , calculate ()
        )

update msg model =
        case msg of
            CalculationProgressReceived progress ->
                ( { model | calculation = InProgress progress }, Cmd.none )

CalculationResultReceived result ->
                ( { model | calculation = Complete result }, Cmd.none )

view : Model -> Html Msg
    view model =
        case model.calculation of
            InProgress progress ->