Infinite websockets created via Subscription?

Hi all,

I’m building an application using the RealWorld example app as a guide, and I hit some odd issue.

I have my pageSubscriptions method to declare subscriptions based on the page we have loaded, like:

pageSubscriptions : Flags -> Page -> Sub Msg
pageSubscriptions flags page =
    case page of
        Blank ->
            Sub.none

Errored _ ->
            Sub.none

NotFound ->
            Sub.none

Login _ ->
            Sub.map ParseMessage (Login.subscriptions)

Where subscriptions does:

subscriptions = WebSocket.listen url

The problem is that, according to what I see in developer tools and the ‘events’ panel in Debug mode, subscriptions is called every minute or so, and that creates a new WebSocket connection. As a consequence, I end up with plenty of WebSocket connections open unless I refresh the page.

Has anyone seen this before? What’s the fix? I tried Google/SO/etc but couldn’t find any answer.

Cheers,
Pere

I think your Sub.map ParseMessage (Login.subscriptions) will create a subscription to the ParseMessage Msg in your application, resulting in Login.subscriptions being called each time a ParseMessage is produced.

I think what you want is

pageSubscriptions : Flags -> Page -> Sub Msg
pageSubscriptions flags page =
    case page of

Login _ ->
            Login.subscriptions -- subscription created only once

Thanks for the answer! I have a follow up question:

I’m following the pattern from RealWorld example app for multiple pages, and it needs to map messages from pages to messages Main understands.

If what you mention is the issue, how can I map the messages from subscriptions when having multiple pages? What’s the alternative?