Is it fair to say abstraction and expressiveness are Elm's weak points?

I’m a computer science student trying to approach Elm and functional programming in general. I have to prepare a presentation over Elm as a language as part of an exam.
I’ve spent the past days studying all of its features and limits. I’ve come to the point where I should draw some conclusions, but while understanding how it works is relatively easy I’m hesitant about my personal judgement. I can’t tell whether the drawbacks I feel in Elm come from actual problems or just from my inexperience in functional programming (I’ve coded nothing but a few tutorial examples in Elm).
Could someone more experienced than me tell me if the following statements are objectively true, subject of opinion or just nonsense?

• Elm is a fast, simple, easily approachable purely functional language designed to build small client-side web application.
  • While statically typed and safe, it lacks in expressive power and abstraction (I’m thinking about the absence of typeclasses and subtyping, and the fact that the only polymorphism present is represented by extensible records)
  • This lack of expressiveness translates into the difficulty of growing large and generalized libraries and composing work, although those requirements are not so needed in client-side web development
1 Like

No, I don’t think so. Functional languages are by and large are all very expressive, as higher-order functions and composition results in terse, reusable code. There is no fiddling around with counters, memory management, or loops. No variable instantiation, constructors, or OOP boilerplate.

Moreover, Elm’s union types are incredibly expressive, allowing you to model most if not all of your business domain in types. For example, can you tell me what this function does just by looking at its type signature?

func : Shape -> Volume