Load SVG externally and wire to elm model

Hello everyone, coming from Vue, I have been learning elm for the past 4 months and having a great time so far! But I am stuck on achieving one idea I have in elm.

The idea is:

1. Load an SVG file externally and append it inline.
  2. Collect SVG elements by querying id names within.
  3. Attach onClick listeners to those element collection.

Basically it tries to turn any SVG drawing into clickable checkboxes (if it has the correct ID names).

Before this, I was experimenting around using predefined div elements. The model being a tuple of List & Set
https://ellie-app.com/cgjnTJ2XfmRa1

I have zero idea on how it works and I have yet to experiment this with vanilla JS.

Thanks!

1 Like

I have never tried it with SVG, but this might help:

https://package.elm-lang.org/packages/hecrj/html-parser/latest/

3 Likes

Thanks rupert! It is said it doesn’t support svg in the parser, but tried it out anyway. It failed to render even though the inner HTML shows the SVG inside the browser’s inspector.

I’ve come across to this package SvgParser - elm-svg-parser 1.0.0

It has this toAttribute endpoint which I can see myself wiring the color attribute to the model. Still has left me wondering around how to attach onClick messages. I’ll figure it out eventually.

Thanks for the package recommendation. It helped me see how to proceed solving this problem!

You can write a custom onClick listener that passes the target’s id to the event.

Yes @shiningflint elm-svg-parser is definitely the way to go. I’ve done almost exactly the same thing as you’re asking for. A false start that made things miserable for a little while was to use img tags and use ports with something like GitHub - iconic/SVGInjector: Fast, caching, dynamic inline SVG DOM injection library. Although this makes loading images nearly trivial, this plays poorly with the virtual DOM.