Make animation subscriptions safer?

When reading through the topics in this discourse I came across an issue and had an idea.
The post in question was this:

Not using a subscription defined in a module is an easy mistake to make as a consumer. And apart from animations not working then, this can often cause issues with the base functionality of a “component” (for example a drop down not expanding because it is waiting for animation events).

Now, since I like functional languages for the guarantees they provide, and since I recently started learning Idris I thought; can’t we make this safer somehow?

Two ideas I came up with on the spot:

• Change TEA so that view functions can guarantee subscriptions. This… is probably not the best idea and not going to happen, but I am still mentioning it as a possibility.

• Have an Animation subscription fire a subscribed event immediately which sets some state in the Animation describing it as successfully subscribed to. This would then allow module authors to check wether animations for their element were correctly enabled, and fall back to animationless behaviour otherwise. I don’t know how this would work for checking wether the subscription was accidentally removed though.

These are just ideas that I am curious to get feedback on. I would like for Elm to be as safe and convenient as possible, without programmers having to be aware of edge cases and preconditions :slight_smile:

The fundamental problem here is how do you handle updating the current time.

It’s not entirely clear in the post, but it sounds like you are looking at mdgriffith/elm-style-animation. I will also consider my own library, mgold/elm-animation. I actually recommend mdgriffith’s library for most cases since it handles animating styles rather than Float values, but let’s get back to updating the current time.

In elm-style-animation, you