ProtoBuf decoding/encoding via Bytes.Decode.width?

Similar to Google’s ProtoBuf, the OpenAPI Specification (OAS) defines a standard, programming language-agnostic interface for data interchange. ProtoBuf uses .proto files, OAS uses YAML files. There is an OpenAPI Generator that can be used to generate server stubs, client libraries or documentation for several languages. As the OAS Generator’s template creator for Elm (See example) I’ve always been intrigued by the ability to generate Models & Requests automatically. This both saves me from write encoders/decoders manually and makes it impossible to break the contract between server and client.

As I got inspired by Evan’s vision for data interchange and Elm now supports processing bytes, I started playing around and trying to parse ProtoBuf messages in Elm. My current API is mostly inspired by the existing Elm JSON encoder and decoder packages. I am running into an issue concerning decoding.

In contrast to decoding JSON, my data is not stored in a clear (JSON) tree structure:

• The order of the fields of the record I am decoding to may be different to the ordering of the field numbers (i.e. the ordering of data in the Bytes) as defined in the .proto;
  • When decoding a repeated int32 I do not know in advance how many int32s I will find in the bytes sequence. Those are not nicely put together like in JSON but are stored sequentially.

Therefore, I start my decoding process by first creating a Dict Int (List Bytes). The Int contains the field number and the list contains all the matching chunks of Bytes I run into while processing the whole range of Bytes. For this I use Bytes.Decode.loop as I keep filling the Dict until I run out of Bytes. And that’s currently my main issue. I do not know when to stop the loop. When I (with some workarounds) have generated this Dict, I use it to run field decoders on the stored chunk(s) based on each field number.

Here a some core functions to summarize the approach a bit: