Resolving Issue #1949 (how to build Elm) with improved dockerfiles?

Problem

I am new to the Elm community (this is my first post) and have zero open source contribution experience, but think Issue #1949 could be resolved by improving the current Dockerfile in Elm compiler source. My hypothesis does require new build practices to be followed by Elm maintainers. As such, I hope this community post is an appropriate way to gauge feasability and interest.

Hypothesis

Elm compiler source dockerfiles used to distribute official elm binaries are instructively transparent for community builders. Given the Dockerfile format is human-and-machine readable (like Markdown), maintainers could answer questions like "How do I bulid elm@x.y.z on distro abc" by pointing to Dockerflie.abc in git clone --branch x.y.z https://github.com/elm/compiler.git. The main benefit over regular instructions is that automated Docker Hub builds could empirically show which Dockerfile instructions succeed or for what reasons they fail. (For instance, not having updated ca-certificates leads to HTTP.elm compilation problems.)

Background

The current compiler/installers/linux/Dockerfile successfully builds a static elm binary. I’ve tried to improve upon this base in three different dockerfiles called Dockerfile, Dockerfile.alpine, and Dockerfile.debian:

1. Dockerfile copies an amd64 static binary to an empty docker image for reduced size and easier extraction.
  2. Dockerfile.alpine copies a non-static amd64 binary onto a Dockerhub Node image for use in amd64 CI/CD.
  3. Dockerfile.debian copies a non-static multiarch binary onto Docker Hub Node for use in multiarch CI/CD or to extract multiarch binaries for ChromeOS 80’s Buster based Linux container