SEO, Google Lighthouse

Hi!

I have successfully used elm for back office web applications in production, were SEO is not a concern. For my next project I’d like to start using elm for a consumer facing website too. So SEO is of great importance.

I have a prototype with all essential properties of the website included (js libs, fonts, css, images, dynamic loading of data from the server (graphql), aso). The view is implemented completely in elm.

When running google lighthouse I get 99/100/100/100 for performance/accessibility/best practices/SEO. So my question is: am I missing something? I always thought SEO and elm is a problem.

The hosting service I’m using offers free prerender.io, but I haven’t enabled it yet, because the SEO-score is excellent.

4 Likes

I am no expert on this topic, but AFAIK Googlebot has no problem rendering JS based applications. Hence it can give a good score.

Unfortunately the same can’t be said of other search engines. So I think this may be a move by Google to make their moat against their competitors larger by making you feel like your website is going to work fine and actually only being findable on Google.

That said, given the relative market shares, you may not care.

4 Likes

We are running Elm SPA frontends on several sites where SEO is important (e-commerce) and we have had no problems with Google Indexing. We are not using any server side pre-rendering.

Bing didn’t work some time ago but it looks like it renders now when I test it in their test tool. It used to be blank.

Some of our sites running Elm:

6 Likes

As far as I remember, HTML indexing is done super quickly by Google, while a full run with JS is put on a queue and run as soon as their servers have time, which could be days. So if quick re-indexing of your site is important that can be worth keeping in mind (and looking up if it’s still the case!).

4 Likes