Serving static content within a single-page web app

I’m new to Elm and I’m using the language to build a little website. I’ve got the site’s framework built out using Browser.applicationand Url to route to the different sections of the site. The actual content is supposed to render from a couple Markdown and JSON files.

This is where I’m having an issue. I’m trying to access these files from Elm via HTTP requests, but since they’re served from the same place as the main site, my main page is catching the requests and giving back my “this page does not exist” stuff instead of the actual files.

Is there some way to setup a single-page application so that it defaults to serving normal, static content for some URLs, while doing all the good, single-page stuff for every other URL? I can find a thread in this forum discussing a solution for the same issue with Elm-Spa, but I’m wondering if there’s a way to address this with a basic Browser.application as well?

[edit: grammar]

Which HTTP server are you using?

I’m just serving locally right now with Parcel. I’ll be deploying on GitHub Pages, though.

Parcel can serve static files, can’t it?

If you mean that you are writing an elm app with Browser.application and in that elm app you are a [ href ] linking to a url that’s actually a static file on the same server but getting this page does not exist…

I suspect it could be that your Browser.application is considering that link to be Internal and going down the code path to pushUrl which isn’t a real browser navigation; just a routing within your elm app, thus result in the problem you describe.

Try to detect for your path and get to return Nav.load which would let the browser do a real page load and get to your file.

If my guess is correct