State machine-like Model advice

Hi, I’m new to Elm and am building a simple quiz UI (such as that of Buzzfeed) to teach myself the language and environment. I see my UI fitting into three distinct stages:

1. Initial (showing the “hello and welcome to the quiz” screen)
  2. Quiz question (stores a running tally of options selected)
  3. Complete (shows the winning option)

I’m trying to model this with Elm, but I keep running into a wall, due to the fact that only a subset of Msgs are applicable in each stage. In particular, the Start message only makes sense in the Initial and Complete stages, and the Select and Next messages only make sense in the Quiz stage. My current approach uses Maybe everywhere, even when it doesn’t make sense, because I can’t figure out how to model Msgs that are only applicable in a particular stage.

Any advice? Thank you in advance!

1 Like

you will need to write a module for every page: Page.Initial, Page.Quiz and Page.Complete.

Each page contains its own Model/Msg/View/Update.

You then will need to wire the pages together. The go-to tool for this is elm-spa.

But because you mentioned state machines, I’d like to recommend using Orasund/elm-action instead. It’s a package I wrote to model Elm programs as state machines.

Here is how you would set up your Main module:

import Page.Initial as Initial
import Page.Quiz as Quiz
import Page.Complete as Complete
import Action

type Model =
  Initial Initial.Model
  | Quiz Quiz.Model
  | Complete Complete.Model

type Msg =
  | InitialMsg Initial.Msg
  | QuizMsg Quiz.Msg
  | Complete Complete.Msg

update : Msg -> Model -> (Model, Cmd Msg)
update mg ml =
  case (mg,ml) of
    (InitialMsg msg, Initial model) ->
      Initial.update msg model
      |> Action.config
      |> Action.withTrasition Quiz.init Quiz QuizMsg
      |> Action.withUpdate Initial InitialMsg
      |> Action.apply
    (QuizMsg msg, Quiz model) ->
      Quiz.update msg model
      |> Action.config