SVG editable text

Hi,

I’m a newbie to Elm and playing around with elm/SVG. Need some help on “Editable Text” on the “Text” elelements of the SVG.

Here is an example codepen I’m trying to reproduce. https://codepen.io/sdras/pen/dWBvpY

Here is my sample Elm code

import Html exposing (Html)
import Svg exposing (..)
import Svg.Attributes exposing (..)

main : Html msg
main =
  svg
    [ viewBox "0 0 400 400"
    , width "400"
    , height "400"
    ]
    [
     text_
        [ x "140"
        , y "130"
        , fill "black"
        , textAnchor "middle"
        , dominantBaseline "central"
        ]
        [ text "I want this text to be dynamically Editable"
        ]
    ]

I did try to modify the example Text Fields · An Introduction to Elm to work with SVG’s. But no sucess. Any inputs will be helpful.

Best,
SantMan

So the core stuff you need to set up looks something like this
Ellie

You have a dynamic value, therefore it has to come from the model and then you create a Msg which is handled by update to change the model, and the text changes with it.

It seems like you don´t want a html input though but rather an svg you can directly type in. I don´t know if you can modify the native input to work that way, but I imagine you can get there just using the onKeyDown event and sending the keypresses directly onwards. The core setup will always be the same though, where you will have a model, a Msg type, an update function that changes the model according to the kind of Msg received and a view that renders based on the model.

Thank you @Earsinkle for your response. Your solution provides 50 % of what I was looking for.
That is mainly because I was not clear with my requirements.
In your suggested solution, there is a different input field and then you type the message or text what you want to be displayed. That is okay for basic purposes. But doesn’t solve the problem I have.