SVG game at 60fps

I wanted to see if I could write a feature rich game in a purely functional language.
Multiplayer requires gamepads.

https://xarvh.github.io/herzog-drei/#fps=1

I am not very good with graphics, so I decided to use SVG, and was really surprised that it easily reaches 60 fps on Chrome/ium. Firefox seems to be much slower, but I hope to improve it with some optimization, particularly of the background render and the pathfinding algorithm.
I don’t think I could have done this in React. =D

26 Likes

Very cool and so far my favorite Elm game!

Would be nice to have some instructions though. I had to read a fair bit of source code before I figured out how to play effectively (and I still don’t understand everything, for example what are the Vampires?).

So how was it writing such a complex game in Elm?

Wow, thanks. =)

Thanks for the feedback, I’ll definitely add an “how to play” button.

“vampire” is just the normal attack of the Blimp mech when flying: it steals life from nearby enemies.

Writing the game was a lot of trial and error. Elm has a lot of documentation about TEA which is a very hierarchical architecture (things interact with their parent and children only), but I wanted a structure more similar to Unity’s, where all entities belong to a flat hierarchy and everything can interact with everything else in any way.

I ended up using the architecture described by Carmack http://functionaltalks.org/2013/08/26/john-carmack-thoughts-on-haskell/ and unfortunately some optimizations he talks about are not available because of limits in Elm’s types.
The TL;DR version is “use partially applied functions to describe game state changes” and I am amazed by how easy is to prototype stuff and add weird effects to the game mechanics, which is something I struggled with my previous game.
Now I can definitely see FP being really good for games.

8 Likes