Type explosion?

I’m new to typed functional programming, and am asking to check what’s deem “better”

Background:

• I have several landing pages meant for different users revolving around an appointment bookings table.
    1. customer has a page showing their appointments with a particular user; we know the customer & target user; so we only need to display List { a | timeslot : Time.Posix }
    1. users has a page showing their schedules with customers; we know the target user; we now need to display List { a | timeslot : Time.Posix, customer_name : String }
    1. admin has a page showing appointments with customers of all users; we need to display List { a | timeslot : Time.Posix, customer_name : String, user_name : String }
  • in the backend, the appointments table only has user_id, customer_id; we have to perform joins to pull up the names from respective tables.

So, I’m already dealing with 3 types around just one “booking” table; worrying about when the app grows…

• I could create a type for each, meaning separate decoders and related functions. I could put some effort to make helper functions work with extensible records so I could have some reuse between the 3 booking variants (e.g. to display a booking date time)
  • I’m also tempted to just use 1 booking super type (always include user_name and customer_name) but now I’m over fetching (network resources, db inner joins). Also, I’ll likely end up passing entire records of extraneous data around functions and making it hard to know which parts of my program actually need extra / lesser stuff

Whenever I have a new need (oh I need customer_email here…) I’m super tempted to simply extend the existing super Booking type, but I know that will just muddle the other areas.