Understanding the Decoder type

Hello everyone!

I’m still a beginner in Elm but also in typed functional programming in general, so sorry in advance if this question sounds weird. I came across the Json.Decode.Decoder type while reading the Todo MVC’s source code, and I went to look at the type definition:

{-| A value that knows how to decode JSON values.
-}
type Decoder a = Decoder

… which doesn’t make much sense to me. Is the Decoder on the right a different thing from the Decoder on the left? I then looked the definition of Json.Decode.succeed and Json.Decode.fail and got more confused because they seem (?) to return the same type: Decoder a.

As a parallel, the Result type makes sense to me, it has either a success or error value. But the decoder seems to be the same for both succeed and fail? Maybe there are some concepts I still need to learn in order to understand this.

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great, thanks!

2 Likes

The Decoder functionality is implemented in what is called Kernel code - the javascript underlying elm.
The compiler cannot typecheck javascript code, but we still need types on the elm side.

For instance, a few lines below that definition, we see

string : Decoder String
string =
  Elm.Kernel.Json.decodeString

The compiler cannot verify that we give the correct type to string: it will accept any type (and we could lie about the type). So, we create an empty type (there is one constructor, but it is never used and not exposed) to give types to the decoder primitives (like string and int but also map and andThen). These types then make sure that our elm code defines valid decoders.

But conceptually, the decoder could be defined as

type Decoder a = Decoder (String -> Result DecoderError a)

Yes, the left one is a type, the right one is a value. so this would be valid code

type A = A 

a : A -- value `a` has type `A`
a = A -- value `a` is equal to `A`