What are the benefits of storing the state of your "reusable views" in your own model?

I’m new to Elm and TEA, and from what I’ve seen, stateful components are discouraged here. Even the state of reusable views (borrowing the terminology from the elm-sortable-table package) is stored in the caller’s model. However, I haven’t been able to find a clear explanation listing the concrete benefits of this approach.

Examples make for better questions, so for that, I’ll use the aforementioned elm-sortable-table package. In its documentation, it says:

The data displayed in the table is given as an argument to view. To put that another way, the Table.State value only tracks the details specific to displaying a sorted table, not the actual data to appear in the table.

That makes sense to me. What doesn’t is why the “details specific to displaying” the table need to be stored by the caller. As far as I’m concerned, those are implementation details. The caller doesn’t care about the table’s internal state any more than a comment box cares about the cursor position of its <textarea>—or the cursor’s opacity, if it’s blinking. And the <textarea> doesn’t care about the browser’s text renderer, which in turn doesn’t care about the internal state of its text shaper; so on and so forth.

To begin with, Elm uses stateful components as its building blocks. That’s what all HTML elements are. Yet, it appears to me that a line has been drawn between browser-space and user-space components. Why? What makes a tree view, a combo box, or even reimplementations of ugly and difficult-to-style elements different from the browser’s built-in elements?