What is the correct type annotation?

See also this Ellie: https://ellie-app.com/4fMnyrx7KLra1

I am using Elm-markup (great library!) and I am studying the example in the source code. The type annotation of document is document : Mark.Document (model -> Element msg). So, the result is a view function.

So, this code works just fine:

show : Html msg
show =
    case Mark.parse document content of
        Ok element -> element () |> Element.layout []
        Err errors -> errors |> Debug.toString |> Element.text |> Element.layout []

For my use case I will be using several types of documents. So, I thought of creating a generic show function that accepts a document of type Mark.Document (model -> Element msg). Like this:

showGeneric documentType str =
    case Mark.parse documentType str of
        Ok element -> element () |> Element.layout []
        Err errors -> errors |> Debug.toString |> Element.text |> Element.layout []

show1 =
    showGeneric document content

And this code also works just fine. However, showGeneric does not have a type annotation. So, I added:

showGeneric : Mark.Document (model -> Element msg) -> String -> Html msg

But, then the compiler throws an error:

The 1st argument to `element` is not what I expect:

51|         Ok element -> element () |> Element.layout []
                                  ^^
This argument is a unit value:

()

But `element` needs the 1st argument to be:

model

I am struggling to understand what the correct type annotation for showGeneric should be or why showGeneric does work without a type annotation and not with a type annotation.

Can someone help or explain this?

Thanks.

You need to replace model with ()

https://ellie-app.com/4fQT59HZPJha1