Conventional bundler?

Hello,

I’m new to elm, and want to start working on my first elm project.
What is the recommended way to bundle my project (compile elm, js minification, css, etc)?
What do most people use? Webpack?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi, take a look at https://www.npmjs.com/package/create-elm-app It have saved me a lot of time to set up bundling etc. You can use it to generate the basic app skeleton and then just eject it and use your own packages, css libraries, tweak webpack etc.

3 Likes

Thanks! I will take a look.

In the link I see a section with many “alternatives”:

• elm-webpack-starter
  • elm-app-boilerplate
  • elm-hot-loader-starter
  • elm-starter
  • elm-live
  • generator-elmlang

I think it’s a shame there is no one way to do this recommended by the community.
Something like an elm-cli or something… I guess it’ll happen some day :slight_smile:
It’s not enough these days to say “here is how you compile elm to js”. Web developers are looking for a complete solution if they want to consider serious development with a new technology/framework.

Didn’t mean to complain… elm seems like a great technology.
Just sharing my frustration as a newbie

1 Like

Well I take elm-create-app as the “one way to do it” and as such I’m recommending it as it solves most of the needs for setting up a real life project with JS/CSS bundling.

There will always be alternative ways to do the one thing (Grunt/Gulp, Webpack/Browserify/Rollup). It is hard to create the one-suits-all bundler, so it is up to you to find the one that suits you. To be honest I have never needed anything else than elm-create-app as with eject I can cover the edge cases of bundling the project.

3 Likes

ok. Thanks again. It was very helpful!

If you are just starting with elm, why even use any bundler at all?
elm make and elm reactor is enough for the beginning.
Only add a bundler when you really need it, e.g. you need some other js library via npm or you are using sass or similar.