Elm 0.19 websockets and language reliability

Hello all,

I am new to elm and recently consider for the first time to use elm on a client project. I know elm for about 6 months and I can say I love the language and the developing on elm has always been a pleasure. But as I am working with phoenix and phoenix channels in my projects before making my decision I took a look on the packages that I might be needing to come through with the project. One of the packages that I am interested in is websockets. I found a lot of conversations on the topic and figure out that there is a probable workaround through ports(for elm 0.19) that looks like it’s working for most of the elm developers. Not having a native elm solution for websockets in elm 0.19 is not the end of the world for me especially if there is a straight forward workaround, but what bugs me is that I can see posts from more than a year ago stating that the package is under development and will be released at some point and now more than a year later I can’t find any post stating what is the status, are they still work in progress are they canceled for version 0.19 and it looks like nobody has an answer for that. I would love to hear how you feel about inconsistencies like that because as much as I would like to start using elm with my clients I kind of feel like the way I felt when back in the university I used a library a friend has developed and at some point he just decided half of the anticipated functionality wont be there because it’s not so exciting enough for him. This is not a hate message but I want to hear how all of you that use elm in production handle this kind of behavior and how you feel about it? Because I feel as if I am missing the point here and nobody else seems to have a problem with this behavior.

1 Like