Escaping from npm

Hi Community, I’m new in Elm and I’m just starting learning and so far it’s so good, I like all the idea behind of the language one of those is about create a better package ecosystem focus in quality and security.

I have been doing we applications for over 10 years and I really don’t like the way frontend development is going especially npm and the black hole that is node_modules, I want to try to stay away from it.

My concrete question is, are there alternatives to elm-live, elm-analyse or https://github.com/rtfeldman/node-test-runner that don’t depend on node/node_modules package.json and all that stuff?

Thank you

5 Likes

Hi Disptopico.
You don’t want anything of node on your computer ? or just into your elm projet ?
If it’s only into your elm projet, you just need to use npx or install elm-live and elm-test globaly with npm -g.

yes, I don’t want have node just in the elm project but at the time share de dependencies with other forks to have the same dev tools in a easy way to install those

To work completely without node,

• elm-test: there is now the option to use https://github.com/mpizenberg/elm-test-rs instead
  • elm-live: using elm reactor is the closest thing available
  • elm-analyse: afaik there is no existing alternative that does not require node
3 Likes

… though now that I think of it, elm-test-rs may actually require node to execute the compiled tests. So actually you may not be able to run tests without node. (There used to be an HTML test runner, but it was discontinued in Elm 0.19.)

elm-test-rs seems pretty good options, thank you!

You can use elm-tooling (Announcing elm-tooling CLI) to install and manage the non-npm dependencies, though there are indeed few of them.

I would also suggest elm-review instead of Elm Analyze which is not being developed anymore. Though both still use npm.

2 Likes

elm-tooling itself is an NPM package though?