Hierarchical data modeling

I am new to Elm. I try to find out if it might be useful for me. But I am a bit disturbed by the following threads:

I would like to write an application with several forms. Each form should contain several different inputs of different types and some inputs have themself a sub structure as for example dates (year, month, day). In every other language (JavaScript, Go, Scheme) I would create some nested records to build a tree for my data.

• form a
    • entry a
      • input a
      • input b
    • entry b
      • input a
      • input b
  • form b
    • entry a
      • input a

and so on

But in the cited threads I found the following statements:

Elm is very opinionated and part of that opinion is that nesting is often a hint at bad design.

Although the language permits doing this, it is so strongly discouraged as a technique that I think we should step back and reexamine the surrounding code to find a fundamentally better way to address your use case

This sounds quite astonishing to me. For me organizing data in a hierarchical way is the most natural thing. Strangely enough, almost all models in the guide only consist of a few values. So the question is: how is complex data handled in Elm? How would a model for my requirement look like?

1 Like

Your suggested structure looks great! That’s how I’d do it too.

2 Likes

Forms are quite a complicated topic. I would recommend not thinking too much about type safety or else you will lose yourself in a deep deep rabbit hole. Its probably just fine starting with what you got and seeing how far it gets you.

For smaller forms, I would create update functions to help me update the nested structure.

type alias SmallForm =
    { firstName : String
    , secondName: String
    , address : List String
    , birthday : {year:Int,month:Int,day:Int}
    }

updateBirthday : {year:Int,month:Int,day:Int} -> SmallForm -> SmallForm