How to do enums in Elm

TL;DR: I’ve made a working Ellie for this if you want to play around: https://ellie-app.com/nt22pfXCtKa1

I’ve seen a few comments around how working with enums suck in Elm. I believe much of the frustration comes from trying to re-implement in Elm a language feature that exists in other languages. As a result of applying the wrong kind of thinking, the wrong abstraction is reached and Elm gets the blame. So while I’m no expert, the following approach may lessen the pain that some people feel.

Let’s start with an example of the wrong way to do things, that, unfortunately, I have seen repeated often, e.g.
hackernoon: a-small-dive-into-and-rejection-of-elm-8217fd5da235 and http://reasonablypolymorphic.com/blog/elm-is-wrong/

Elm has union types, so we can model an enum like this:

type Preference = NoPreference | Morning | Afternoon`

We need to show these values in a select list, so we need a text description of each preference option.

displayName preference =
    	case preference of
    		NoPreference -> "No preference"
    		Morning -> "Morning"
    		Afternoon -> "Afternoon"

There’s no way to enumerate the values of a Preference, so we also need a list

preferences = [ NoPreference, Morning, Afternoon ]

Now we build our select list

preferenceOption preference = option [] [ text <| displayName preference ]

Using this we can display a select list to a user. Cool! Ok, but how do we get the value our user has selected? We can use the onInput function, but that produces a msg that has a string, so we need a function to convert the string to our Preference type for our msg.

type Msg = PreferenceSelected Preference

parsePreference string = 
	case string of 
		"Morning" -> Morning
		"Afternoon" -> Afternoon
		_ -> NoPreference

view model = 
    select [ onInput (PreferenceSelected << parsePreference) ]
	    (List.map preferenceOption preferences)