How to get a given element in list by id and the previous and next element?

Hi there !

I am having trouble solving a quite simple problem in Elm. I am pretty new to the functional paradigm so there might be a “good” way to solve this.

Given a List of Image. Each Image has quite a few properties but also an id.
I would like to access an image given an Id and get the previous and following element.

What would be the best way to handle this situation ? Should I use a Array instead of a List?

Thanks !

I think using List.Extra (https://package.elm-lang.org/packages/elm-community/list-extra/8.2.3/List-Extra) you would be able to do what you want, in particular with find and getAt.

To access neighboring elements of a list, you need to use tail recursion. Here’s a solution using that:

findWithNeighbors : (a -> Bool) -> List a -> ( Maybe a, Maybe a, Maybe a )
findWithNeighbors pred list =
    case list of
        a :: b :: c :: rest ->
            if pred b then
                ( Just a, Just b, Just c )

else if pred a then
                ( Nothing, Just a, Just b )

else
                findWithNeighbors pred (b :: c :: rest)

a :: b :: [] ->
            if pred a then
                ( Nothing, Just a, Just b )

else if pred b then
                ( Just a, Just b, Nothing )

else
                findWithNeighbors pred [ b ]

a :: [] ->
            if pred a then
                ( Nothing, Just a, Nothing )

else
                ( Nothing, Nothing, Nothing )

[] ->
            ( Nothing, Nothing, Nothing )

Usage:

findWithNeighbors (\i -> i == 1) [1,2,3] -- (Nothing, Just 1, Just 2)
findWithNeighbors (\i -> i == 2) [1,2,3] -- (Just 1, Just 2, Just 3)
findWithNeighbors (\i -> i == 3) [1,2,3] -- (Just 2, Just 3, Nothing)

Alternatively you could use List.Extra.findIndex and then call List.Extra.getAt three times, with index - 1 and index + 1, although it’d be less efficient.

4 Likes