Code review for a newbie

Hello everyone!

I’m fairly new to Elm and to functional programming in general. It’s something I’ve dabbled with in the past, but really haven’t spent much time working with it. I wrote a small toy program to familiarize myself with Elm. You can see it in action here: https://www.lakin.ca/avatar/ the source code can be found on github: https://github.com/lakinwecker/avatar.lakin.ca

While I’m generally happy with the results, I the resulting code is longer than I would have expected. I’ve done a couple passes of cleaning it up. Before I go further, I thought I would reach out and see if someone with more experience could review it and critique it. Because this is an exercise in improving my skills in both Elm and FP in general, please feel free to be critical in your review, I don’t mind. :smiley:

For anyone that does take the time to look at it, thank you very much!

This looks really good! Minor nitpicks

wrap : Int -> Int -> Int
wrap max val =
    case val < 0 of
        True ->
            wrap max (val + max)

False ->
            case val >= max of
                True ->
                    wrap max (val - max)

False ->
                    val

Usually, I prefer if-then-else for matching on booleans. In this specific case, it also seems possible to use modBy (typically written % in other languages).

type alias Index =
    ( Int, Int )

x : Index -> Int
x idx =
    Tuple.first idx

y : Index -> Int
y idx =
    Tuple.second idx

Why not make Index a record, e.g. type alias Index = { x : Int, y : Int }. Records are almost always a better idea: the fields are automatically documented and you get projection functions for free (the .x and .y in this case.

toIndices : Cells -> List Index
toIndices cells =
    List.map
        Tuple.first
    <|
        Dict.toList
            cells

I almost always prefer parens over <|, so

toIndices : Cells -> List Index
toIndices cells =
    List.map Tuple.first (Dict.toList cells)