Ideas for improving editor experiences

A woman I know recently tried to learn Elm, but she got stuck setting up her editor. She ended up giving up on the guide at that point! :scream:

This made me really motivated to improve the editor experience, so I started looking into the Sublime Text plugin to try to figure out how to do that.

Problems

It is really hard to get started because:

1. There are lots of integrations all in one plugin.
  2. That means there are tons of configuration options.
  3. That means the README is crowded with all sorts of facts and demos.
  4. Some of the older integrations are out of order in various ways.

When I am learning a new editor, it is really hard to just figure out how to install a plugin. By the time I figure that out, I am done messing with settings for the day. I just started learning the language, so I am not interested in advanced workflow keyboard shortcuts yet.

Alternate Design

After reviewing the Sublime Text plugin, I ended up thinking it’d be good to split it into four smaller plugins:

I think this design is a good balance for beginners, professional developers, and editor enthusiast.

• Beginners just get going with Elm Syntax Highlighting. README focuses on how to install.
  • Professional developers can get elm-format and elm make integration as needed. By having it be separate plugins, the README can focus on teaching the more advanced capabilities of the editor (e.g. learning some keyboard shortcuts) without overloading them.
  • Editor enthusiasts still have free range to implement more complicated and more experimental features. Folks will be coming from the smaller three plugins, and therefore will be more prepared to change settings, learn keyboard shortcuts, etc.

So that path is already partly implemented for Sublime Text, but I am interested in getting a consistent experience across editors.

Consistency across editors