Implementing a simple toggling page view

I’m new to Browser.application; feeling my way around routing.
And tearing my hair out trying to implement what, on the face of it, is a simple task:

Each page will have its own help view, such that by tapping the help button, the help view is displayed in place of the usual page view. Tap help again, and the usual view is restored.

One complication is that I need to capture the viewport size (into a dictionary) each time the view changes so that I can restore the help page to it’s original position for those occasions when the user is jumping back-and-forth between the normal view and the help view.

I started off trying to implement it with:
/some/page/some/page/help
but ran into complications.

So then I’ve tried:
/some/page/some/page?help=true
but this is also far more difficult to implement than it should be.

In the second case, the problem appears to be caused by the ‘gap’ between UrlRequest and UrlChange: the function that toggles the route of the help button is executing after UrlRequest but before UrlChange, so it’s operating on a stale value of model.url. The result is that I can get to the help page, but not back from it.

My third thought is to have a value in model such as showHelp : Bool.
And to reset it to False when the url changes.
Currently investigating…

My code is probably very buggy, so I’m not posting code here.
I simply have one question:

What do other people do?

Edit:

I like the idea of having the help state as a query param. To me it makes the URL read as /where/i/am and ?page=augments.

What difficulty are you having with this?

What is the ‘gap’ you’re referring to, between url request and change?

Regardless of how you address this in your URL, you’ll still have to store it in your Model somehow because your view is always a function from your Model to Html. How you do that may vary a little depending on whether this ‘help’ state is available everywhere or only on select pages.