Is Elm fitting for me?

I’m looking to build a “game-story dialog” editor, data gets stored in JSON file, the JSON should be manipulated by friendly GUI Elm app with dropdown menus, radio buttons, textlabel, inputboxes, scrollbars etc to create more editable storyboards and substories. You know, it’s basically just a tool to write stories in a glorified story diagrams or in other simple GUI format.

At some point it has to become a PWA (not high priority), but I don’t want it to be a browser only thing forever.

My problems:

• I’m complete beginner in Functional Programming. (Programming language I “master” are GDscript (Python dialect), Javascript, C#… I tried to get into F# and Haskell but I find no reasons for the effort.

That leads to next fear:

• I would like to build webapp rather quickly, I don’t want to spend months (or even years) learn Functional Programming to learn another month(s) to learn Elm. Can I just learn and use Elm comfortably and productively in matter of weeks, or is there some long road ahead?

I have a somewhat experience with React but I’m eager to try a new better/framework to main, it’s going to be Svelte or Elm… or React, but I’m not a fan of “you have 30 framework addons (routing) to solve the problem X”.

1 Like

I would say that it should be quite easy to learn and to get started. The only problem I see is that having a lot of GUI elements can result in a lot of boilerplate code that lets the size of the project explode. I realize more and more that this actually also happens in other languages, you most often just don’t notice it as much and then suddenly you have a lot of weird bugs.

You want something quick and dirty? Then don’t use Elm.
You want to really understand how FP works? Then use Elm.

1 Like

Interesting quote :))

I hope it’s possible to make something quick when you are “fluent” with Elm!