My first Elm web app and experience

I have been creating some web apps using ExtJs and later Webix, so, classical javascripts libraries/frameworks. My back-end programming language was already functional, using F# and I was completely convinced that also for the front-end I should be using a functional language. What at first put me off using Elm was the lack of UI libraries like the ones I was used to. I have little Html and css knowledge and no desire to program my own ui components like editable tables and trees.

Then I tried to build something using Elm and plain Html with css. Was not satisfied and tried elm-bootstrap, elm-mdl. The problems I encountered was the lack of continuing support for these packages and some other issues, like elm-mdl prohibiting the use of the time debugger feature of Elm.

Finally, I gave elm-style-elements a try. And this really is extremely promising. I managed to migrate my mdl looking project to a similar look using my own style-sheets: http://genapls.azurewebsites.net.

So, I am very satisfied with Elm thus far. I also feel that with elm-style-elements you really can create a great looking web app comparable with existing ui libraries. The only thing that bothers me a bit is the uncertainty whether packages will be supported in the future. The F# community has its community supported libraries which gives some confidence they will be maintained and upgraded. For example the elm-style-elements would be a great community supported package.

To conclude, I am really happy using Elm!

7 Likes

That is awesome to hear you are enjoying Elm!

I also share your concern over package uncertainty at times.

We should take a page from Rust’s book and maybe twice a year have a community effort to focus on package updates/tweaks/enhancements together. Libz Blitz - I thought that was really cool.

5 Likes

that’s a really cool idea! Maybe we should do this after 0.19 to get everything in top shape? It sounds like it might be getting close.