Let's contribute a little towards maplibre interop

There was someone interested in having the elm mapbox wrapper library support maplibre. There also was some work on the elm mapbox library in 2019. I am going to try dust off my Elm skills and experiment with the elm mapbox library in this thread, as I get spare time.

Here is the last thread that I could find: What good libraries are for maps handling.

I am going to try working through the existing elm mapbox library example instructions first. I will post replies to this thread as I work through it.

I am primarily a backend developer, who has worked in FP languages in the past. I like graph algorithms, geospatial systems, and various applied algorithm topics. I am new to leaflet and mapbox / maplibre.

If I get very far with this thread, it would be nice if I can collaborate with others to document how to get maptiler layers + local postgis/tegola layers + maplibre + elm mapbox library up and running. We’ll see how far it goes. I am up for using codeberg or gitlab (or maybe GitHub if others strongly prefer that) and this forum to collaborate. I am also up for chatting synchronously with people on a matrix channel, if anybody expresses interest.

6 Likes

Example01.elm worked for me. I updated the elm-version to 0.19.1. I added “gampleman/elm-mapbox” as an elm dependency. I hardcoded the Mapbox token to use my token. I updated the index.js to reference Example01 instead of Example02. I ended up with the following newer npm deps:

"devDependencies": {
    "elm": "^0.19.1-5",
    "elm-hot": "^1.1.6",
    "node-elm-compiler": "^5.0.6",
    "parcel-bundler": "^1.12.5"
  },
  "dependencies": {
    "elm-mapbox": "^4.1.0",
    "mapbox-gl": "^1.0.0"
  }

I am going to try building Example01 directly with the library source code, instead of referencing elm-mapbox as a published dependency. Once I figure that out, I will try the generic web instructions for swapping in maplibre.