Newbie: using React components in Elm

I want to write an app in Elm (specifically, a Progressive Web App). I want to be able to quickly prototype a UI using premade components from the Wide Web, maybe from npm ecosystem, maybe from React ecosystem. Actually, I’m not sure which, because I’m a JS noob (and I desperately want to stay one). The goal is to reuse, i.e. I don’t want to have to build my own html+css as much as possible. I’ve seen some React xml-like layouts and components and they seem perfect.

How can I do this in Elm? It can be non-idiomatic, I just want to do it as easily as possible to focus on the actual app, not some low level yak shaving.

I’ve seen a similar question on stackoverflow; but as an Elm and JS noob I don’t get much of it. I mostly see it as a few 2016 answers of “boooo, you shouldn’t, it’s not idiomatic!”, but some guy there also tried to hack something in 2017 and it seems to work for him? I’m interested in this constructive even if hacky and ugly attitude. Is this still the state of art as of 2018? Can somebody please help me and expand on this in an ELI5 way, that I could ideally repeat for any third party React component? I’d be super grateful!!!

1 Like

You might be looking for http://package.elm-lang.org/packages/rundis/elm-bootstrap/latest or http://package.elm-lang.org/packages/debois/elm-mdl/latest.

1 Like

Woohoo, that looks cool, thanks! Will certainly try them; should be enough to build some reasonable first prototype on top of them (esp. MDL, given I want to build a phone app).

The MDL package seems to have stalled; do you know if any of the numerous forks has picked the ball, by chance? For example, the dialog feature seems incomplete, while the bootstrap package seems to have a similar one in better shape. Or I don’t see support for a “drawer” widget, which would also be interesting to me.

Also, are there some more alternatives apart from your 2 suggestions, or is it all there is as of now?