N00b Adventure Game Learning Project

New year, new attempt at learning ELM by building something that interests me.
I am not a coder so I’m here to ask for guidance in setting up the project, organising the work tasks, and later on some code help :slight_smile:
Mostly I’m getting lost in the obscure plumbing of the structure I think I need… and so constantly drop the project. But maybe there is a better (more accessible to me) way to tackle this thing?

What I want to do is basically a text adventure, but a bit more complex.

• I’m thinking about a single-user app (a website? a pwa?) that can handle a group of people using it locally… like, we all sit at a [virtual?]table with just one of us actually interacting with the app. This is mainly due to the fact that I imagine creating a true multiplayer app as being waaay beyond my current skills (which are very close to zero :frowning: )

• I need the user to be able to create different individual Player Profiles, each containing:

• Player score
    • list of characters (each with their info and stats)
  • if there is an ongoing game, the user could continue it or abandon it or begin a new one

• CONTINUE will resume the saved game state

• ABANDON will delete that game state

• BEGIN NEW will ask the user to select which Player Profiles will join the game

• each Player will then create a new character or select a live one from their profile
  • once this is all done, the game begins, kind of more or less like TextAdventure style

• prompts to user choices
    • lists of randomly selected elements
    • text descriptions
    • tracking of scores and counters
    • buttons to allow player interaction
    • etc

This is my main problem now.
I am not sure how to do ANY of this stuff.
Is ELM enough to handle it?
Can I save state in cookies or somesuch?
Do I need a backend?
Should this be a MPA or a SPA?
How about making it playable offline? (PWA???)