Odyssey - A photoblog

Hi everyone, I think the project I’ve been working on in my spare time for the past three months is ready for a public release!

TLDR: A photoblog mostly written in Elm, uses the partition function to guarantee layout—no ragged edges. An interactive world map displays the location of each image.

Details

I’ve seen a lot of ways people choose to display photos in a gallery, and there’s usually some form of trade-off every time. Either you must conform to some thumbnail size and aspect ratio (example), or you just hope that no-one ever scrolls to the bottom of the page to see a miss-aligned ragged edge (example), or even no chance of previewing the images: just keep clicking and hope that it’s worth it (example).

The general issue here can be considered as a partition problem, which falls into the NP-Complete category of annoying things most people don’t want to deal with.

Luckily this is something I’ve created a package for: elm-partition. There are a number of algorithms which tackle this problem, I’ve got three in the package at the moment, and am working on an anytime implementation. Well, I was until I abandoned finishing it to work on Odyssey. I’ll have time to get back to it soon now I guess.

The perfect layout

So, we can take a list of images, grab their aspect ratios, figure out how many rows we’ll need to make the display look nice based on the current viewport size, then use these two sets of info to create a partition of images that will fit snugly, row by row, right to the end.