Why is elm-europe so expensive (and how can folk afford to go)?

When I saw that elm-europe was happening in June I thought to my self:

“Ooh, a conference on elm - probably a long shot (as it is in France so I would need to travel) but maybe I could go.”

I then checked the website and saw that tickets cost $300. Alas, I am a student and there is no way that I can afford this.

So I have two friendly questions - both of which probably have obvious answers:

1. Why does a two day conference cost so much to attend/what makes organising a conference so expensive? Do other conferences cost a similar amount?

2. How to folk afford to attend. Perhaps working full time on elm brings big dollars or maybe there is something else that I am missing.

:slight_smile:

Not sure if this helps, but based on my experience $300 for two days doesn’t sound uncommon or expensive. E.g. compare with React Europe. https://www.react-europe.org/#tickets

I guess one of the organizers can provide you more information and go into detail regarding the other questions.

1 Like

I went to DrupalCon years ago. It is run by an open association, they posted some summary financials in slides, and I understood that everything was public. This was what I could find easily:

Perhaps that will provide insight into conventions in general.

1 Like

I made a remarkably similar discovery today. I remember that Zeit offered scholarships for their Europe conference, and I got one, which was super convenient.

I also posted a Tweet asking about the scholarships but haven’t received a reply yet. It would be super cool if you share anything useful that you find! :tada:

Most of the conferences I’ve been to have been paid for by the company I work for rather than by myself as an individual. And I’d say that’s true for the majority of attendees at these things.