In the html -vs- only in the DOM

I’m an Elm newbie happily working my way through Elm in Action by Richard Feldman
(Code below is, I think, © 2017 Manning Publications. No infringement intended.)

Following a ‘Tip’ suggestion to improve the code (Section 3.2.4) I added a checked attribute to a radio button input so that the buttons correctly represent the model’s initial state on page load. And it works.

However, when I use Chromium’s inspector, my radio inputs all look like this:
<input type="radio" name="size">
None of them, including the one generated with checked True, have a checked attribute.

My question is:
What determines which attributes (and tags?) appear in the viewable page elements, and which will only exist in the DOM? Or am I misinterpreting what’s happening?

The (relevant) code:

viewSizeChooser : ThumbnailSize -> Html Msg
viewSizeChooser size =
  label []
    [ input [ type_ "radio", name "size", checked (isDefaultSize size), onClick (SetSize size) ] []
    , text (sizeToString size)
    ]

isDefaultSize : ThumbnailSize -> Bool
isDefaultSize size =
  size == initialModel.chosenSize

Inspector output:

<div id="choose-size">
  <label>
    small
  </label>
  <label>
    medium
  </label>
  <label>
    large
  </label>
</div>

You’ve encountered one of those confusing parts of the HTML/DOM specification: the subtle differences between the properties and attributes of a node.

HTML/DOM

Roughly speaking, attributes are values that are set using the regular HTML attribute syntax checked ="checked" on a tag. Some (all?) of these are eventually converted into internal properties on the DOM node. Some (all?) properties can also be set directly using JavaScript like myNode.checked = true.

This means some values can be set via both attributes or properties but the resulting behavior can be slightly different depending on how it’s set :cold_sweat:

If you want to dig into the topic more, check out this Stack Overflow thread and this article.

Elm