Local Pattern Matching

Hello, I am a beginner to Elm, and I want to implement an idea which is so simple. I want to save some sentences in my model, then I want to look for a user’s given word in these sentences. if the word matches, then return a list of all of those sentences. I want those returned sentences to be clickable to view more details and complete sentences.

Is this simply possible in elm? If yes give me a simple Hint and I will start figuring it out. and if I faced a problem, i will ask it here.

Example: I am looking for word ‘this’ and it should return all the sentences contain this.
Capture

Thank You.

IT os perfectly possible in elm. The are many ways to address your situation. The simpler approach would be to replace the matches with some html and give the output string to the html-parser package.

A more advanced approach would use a custom parser instead of of the buildHtml -> html-parser process. This could allow you to give you custom rendering and more contol over the events, and without the need of having to first do a replacement.

1 Like

Hi,

Welcome to Elm, and yes, it certainly is possible with Elm.

If you store your sentences as a List of Strings on your Model, then you can combine List.filter and String.contains to extract the relevant sentences.

You should then end up with another List, either empty for no matches, or with one or more items that did match. You can then use List.map in your view in order to display the results.

That should get you started, if you want full code examples just shout.

HTH

3 Likes

I have a project that has code in it that might help you:

This makes use of a ‘trie’ data structure to index all of the text in an OpenAPI model, which makes it searchable. You may not need this level of sophistication, depending on what kind of search you are implementing. For example, if its always whole words, you could just put all the words in a Set or Dict. The trie is useful for more flexible sub-string matching: